David Constantine of Scilly

About The Scilly Isles
The Scilly Isles
For details on how to travel to Scilly, where to stay, and what there is to do once you've arrived, visit the Simply Scilly website.
The Isles of Scilly are a cluster of small granite islands set in the clear blue Atlantic Ocean some 28 miles south west of Land's End in the United Kingdom.

The Isles of Scilly consists of five inhabited islands and countless smaller islets and rocks. The islands are all that remain of forests and marshes which began to disappear early in the second millenium BC.

Five of the islands are inhabited: St Mary's, Tresco, St Martin's, Bryher and St Agnes - home to a about 2,000 residents. Most of the work on the islands is now centred on tourism, but fishing and farming are still practiced.

Each island has it own features, but soft, white sand, clear water, sparkling air, rugged granite outcrops, and springy turf are common to all.

Travel between the islands is easy with regular launch services linking each of the islands seven days a week from April to the end of October and through the winter, although less frequently.

© University of Wales, Aberystwyth 2002-2009       home  |  e-mail us  |  back to top
site by CHL